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has four. You can do this by doubling with
three-card support and bidding directly
with four-card support. When partner
comes to make a decision, he is in pos -
session of useful extra information. Partner
will know, if you double, that you have only
three, and can view to play in 1NT or 2t
instead of 2™ if that is appropriate.
Here is an example from the point of

view of the responder. Partner opens 1t
and you respond 1™. Now the next hand
wades in with 2® and you hold:

How high should you
compete? If you play sup -
port doubles, then part -
ner will bid 2™with four-
card support and double
with three. If instead he
pas ses, then you know

you have no fit. If he had six diamonds, he
would likely bid 2t, you know that your
heart fit is at best 5-2, so you would judge
against competing at the three level.
So how strong is one of these doubles?

The answer is that it can be any strength.
If your hand is truly terrible for an open -
ing bid and flat, say a 3-3-5-2 11- or 12-
count, then you might not double. You are
not obliged to. But the double could show
13 or 18 points and you will make this clear
with your next action. If min imum, you will
pass, if you have a good hand you can bid
on, secure in the knowledge that partner
knows how good the fit is.
It’s good to have some rules about when

support doubles apply. Like many conven -
tions, the case for them is weakened if you
have lots of misunderstandings. It will only
pay if you are prepared to discuss some
rules with a partner. Remember that both
support doubles and redoubles are alertable
because they convey a specific message.
Most players who use them will restrict

them to the one or two level. Typically they
only apply when one of you has opened and

the other has responded one of a major, and
now an opponent has bid at the one or two
level, so these are support double situations:

1t – (Pass) – 1™ – (2®) – Double
1® – (Pass) – 1´ – (2™) – Double

and these are not:
1t – (Pass) – 1™ – (3®) – Double
1t – (Pass) – 2® – (2´) – Double

Another advantage that accrues is the
‘dog that didn’t bark’. When partner does
not support and does not make a support
double, you know that he has a maximum
of two cards in your suit. This not only has
the advantage of telling you how far to
compete but also when a double of the
opponents is likely to be successful.
Sometimes the opponents will make a

take-out double instead of bidding, and
now you can add the support redouble to
the armoury. The auction goes:

1t – (Pass) – 1™ – (Double) – ?
Now you can bid naturally if you have no
support, including rebidding 1NT, but you
have a spare redouble and can use that to
show three-card support.
Are support doubles always a good idea?

I don’t think so, even though I am arguing
for them. If you play a strong no trump
system then in auctions such as:

1t – (Pass) – 1™ – (2®) – ?
you won’t have 15-17 balanced or you
would have opened 1NT, so using a double
to show three-card support is a big plus. If
you play a 12-14 1NT then you may well
have a strong balanced hand, and need to
show that more than whether you have
three-card support to help partner. They are
a better bet with a strong no-trump type of
system. Even when a convention is a good
idea you do need to look at what you give
up in exchange. Overall, however, they are a
significant boost to dealing with compe -
titive auctions and give more certainty in
knowing when to double opponents, when
to give up and when to compete further. r

YOU have a full array of excellent con -
ventions to assist you to bid slams and
games in uncontested auctions but, of
course, the opponents like bidding so you
need some tools in competitive auctions
and the support double is one.
You have opened. The auction has got

competitive. Do you compete at the three
level?  The traditional answer is that if you
have a nine-card fit it is generally right to
do so. In competitive auctions the differ -
ence between eight- and nine-card fits is
nearly as important as that between seven-
and eight-card fits. Anything you can do
to clarify the degree of fit is worthwhile. It
is why many players make  1t – (1™) – 1´
show five spades and a negative double
four. Suppose the auction has started: 

1t – (Pass) – 1™ – (1´)
You might have some support for partner,
good support for partner or not much at
all, so can you distinguish between the first
two before the opponents use up more of
your room. Let’s suppose you have:

´ A 6 5 ´ K 7
™ K 9 5 or ™ K 9 5 4
t A Q 8 7 5 3 t A Q 7 5 3
® 4 ® 5 4

In both cases you have support and in both
cases you would like to compete to the two
level. Whether you or partner want to go
further depends on partner’s strength and
the degree of fit. If the opponents are about
to bounce you in spades, then now is the
time to tell partner. The first hand has
decent support and a ruffing value. Sure it
might end up being a 4-3 fit but it may play
well and score highly at pairs. With the
second hand you positively want to
encourage partner to go to the three level if
he has five of his suit and quite possibly if he
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agree that you might decide to pass with a
bad hand and three-card support.
To employ an analogy, a bid is either

forcing or non-forcing: there is no such
thing as semi-forcing, and, if a bid is
defined as forcing, then you have to bid
(pace Kit Woolsey, an American expert
who argues that one is at liberty to pass a
‘forcing’ bid when judged appropriate; it is
fair to say that Woolsey’s judgement is
keener than the average). In the same way,
if opener does not double, then he does
not have three-card support.
My main objection to the support

double is that it concentrates on one
feature of opener’s hand to the exclusion
of all others. If, after 1t – (Pass) – 1´ –
(2™), opener has to double with both
3-1-5-4 shape and 3-4-5-1, with anything
from 11 to 21 points, I cannot see how
responder can possibly make a sensible
decision: in the sequence quoted, what is
he supposed to do with a 4-3-2-4 dis -
tribution and 9 or so points? In particular,
what rational basis might he have for
deciding when to pass the double?

HHHHHH

The answer to my (rhetorical) question is
that he has a problem which he will solve
by thinking about it – yes, another
convention which is liable to produce an
‘unauthorised information’ situation –
and then bidding 2´. For I can guarantee
that, if responder bids 2´ slowly in the
sequence quoted, he only has four spades
– with five, he would have little to think
about. If 2´ fails and 2™ would have been
beaten, the familiar alibi (‘I did think
about passing’) will be trotted out.
Support doubles are demonstrably weak

when responder has a hand which might
be interested in game. Compare these two
sequences:

(a) 1t – (Pass) – 1´ – (2™)–2´
Opener has limited his hand. He has

three or four spades with a hand in the
minimum range. It is obviously not ideal
that responder does not know exactly how
many spades opener has, but very often it
will not matter. Responder is well placed
to decide whether or not to try for game.
(b) 1t – (Pass) – 1´ – (2™) – Double
Opener has three spades. Nothing more

is known about his hand so responder is
very much in the dark. 
If, against my advice, you and your

partner decide to employ support
doubles, I suggest that you will need to
sort out a number of subsidiary matters.
For example:

• Do support doubles apply when the
opponents bid 1NT? Does it make a
difference if the 1NT bid is conven -
tional (e.g. the other two suits)?

• Do they apply when the opponents
bid our suit (e.g. a 2t or 2´ bid after
a 1t opening and a 1´ res ponse)?
Does the meaning of the intervention
make a difference (some players
employ these bids to show two-
suiters, others prefer to regard them
as natural)?

• Do they apply over jump inter -
vention (i.e. a jump to 2´ following a
1® or 1t opening and a 1™
response)?

For what it’s worth, a playable rule of
thumb is that support doubles apply when -
ever the intervention is at a level below
two of responder’s suit. So, assum ing a 1´
response to a 1t opening, a double of a
2t bid would be support while a double
of 2´ would not. This may not be the most
efficient method from a purely theoret ical
point of view, but it has the great advan -
tage of being easy to remember.
But I would far prefer you not to use

support doubles at all! r

WHEN I started playing bridge, over forty
years ago, low-level doubles generally fell
into one of two categories: penalty or take-
out. Although other doubles had been
devised, their use was not widespread in
this country.
Times change, and there are now several

different types of double in the armoury
of even the least scientific tournament
player. One of these is the ‘support
double’: as commonly played, when
responder’s first bid was 1™ or 1´, a
double by opener of fourth-hand inter -
vention at the one-level or two-level shows
exactly three-card support for partner’s
major suit.
To my mind, this is a peculiar notion.

It’s not that I cannot see the potential
advantage – I like to think that I am
receptive to ideas and would not attempt
to deny that there can be an advantage in
knowing whether partner has three-card
support; indeed, in certain competitive
situations, the knowledge can assuredly be
beneficial. It’s simply that I can think of at
least three better uses for the double:

• Old-fashioned penalties (in times
gone by, only the most avant-garde
would have played it any other way);
or:

• Take-out, which happens to be my
preference; or

• Strong, balanced hand, particularly
useful when playing a weak no-
trump.

In all three instances, opener is making a
positive statement about his hand, as
opposed to the vague comment that he
has three-card support.
And be in no doubt: if you do not

double when you have three-card support,
partner will assume that you do not have
it. Even if you have opened some dis -
gusting sub-minimum hand, it behoves
you to double – it is simply not playable to
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Or vote by post (Editor, English Bridge, 23 Erleigh Road, Reading RG1 5LR).
Comments for publication (not more than 200 words, please) are welcome.


